SomethingAwful

By SomethingAwful

Manhattan

New York is both beautiful and disgusting.

Hayim and Jamie had to vote today, and had to go to Grand Central Terminal to do so. While they were off, I had a little wander. First I walked around the terminal - couldn't help but smile while I was doing so - and past the food court, and into a great little wine shop (the perfect image of my ideal cellar, for when I'm very rich and important and have a lot of wonderfully unoccupied guests to entertain), and all around the iconic hall. Snapped some cliched shots that came out pretty badly anyway.

Then I went outside to see what I could see, and was overwhelmed as soon as I stepped out into 42nd Street. Not only because it's everything you have always heard of come to life (I'll add here how annoyed I was that while wandering through the terminal, I couldn't get 'Telephone' by Beyonce and Lady Gaga out of my head, but thankfully Lexington seems to be a very common place name in America, or at least NY, and soon enough I spotted the sign for the Lexington entrance and get this in my head instead!), but because everything is just so impressive in this city. I don't think that a single architect made a mistake when it comes to New York. I already love the style of the Boston skyline, but everything here is so big and beautiful and unique. It got me thinking that that probably has something to do with when Manhattan started getting built up again, and also with the fact that they weren't bombed in World War 2 and didn't have to hurriedly build vast amounts of city and infrastructure and residences back up in a period known for prefab, concrete, and (although I know it wasn't all bad), er, Bauhaus.

I was also struck by how accurate all the stereotypes of New York and the people therein are. First, there's the weirdos on the subway. Granted, though, you'll get that in any big city - i've had plenty of Tube experiences, not to mention the Megabus ride I shared with Francesca from Manchester. Then there's how filthy everything is. See tomorrow's post for details, but it makes me wonder how clean all the residents of NYC are after spending a day on the subway! Then there's the rudeness. Slightly in awe, I was walking kind of slowly down Park Avenue, and a woman behind me eventually snapped 'excuse me' and hurried ahead, adding angrily and very audibly 'Jesus.' as she passed me. My first instinct was to shout 'well, you do need the exercise!' after her. I tend to take these things quite personally, see, it's one of my downfalls. But after I reminded myself that she was kind of fat, I took a step back (figuratively, not wanting to irritate any more native New Yorkers) and reminded myself that actually, she probably didn't actually mean it as a personal attack, and that I should probably not let my stomach knot so much when I've been known to get just as annoyed (although too shy to be verbal) at fellow pedestrians...

Sat down outside St Bartholomew's Church for a breather and because I wanted to take in the sights and the very distracting people-watching opportunities (it's still a bit surreal being here. Like, the people seem less familiar than anywhere else in the world I've been to! I really don't know how to explain it...), and then took another route back to the terminal to meet Hayim and Jamie.

J had to go home and get some work done, so H and I headed to Prospect Park and had a long walk through the lovely greenery, and sat by a pond for our picnic and a lot of cousinly chatter. Then home, and in the evening, The Spectacular Now - a truly incredible film that I am so glad we saw! I still can't get over just how real it all was. The two main actors, especially, Miles Teller and Shailene Woodley, created the most believable characters and believable scenes that I've ever seen. Dramatised as the story was, none of it felt like Hollywood to me. A breath of fresh air, for sure, and one that will stay with me for a long time! You have to go and see it.

Then to a great Mexican restaurant for some light dinner, and discussion of the movie of course, and home contented. :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.