dfb24

By dfb24

St. Catherine's Church

Today I had to drive to St. Catherine's to pick up some forms my daughter needs to fill out before her wedding next May! This church was built and paid for in 1855 by relatively poor, hardworking farm families who settled in this area around that time! It sits on the top of a hill, & when I was small, you could see it from miles away. Now with all the development around it, & the growth of the trees, not so much anymore. My parents were members of this congregation for over 50 years, & are buried in the cemetary across the street. My brothers & I all attended grade school here, & I spent many anxious moments on the hill leading up to the church as my dad taught me how to drive a manual transmission & how to stop & then start again on a hill without rolling backwards! Although we no longer belong to this church, my daughter has chosen to be married here not only because it's so gorgeous inside, but because of all the memories this church holds! I'm so excited , too, as my husband & I leave tomorrow morning for Houston to see her! We've decided to drive, as before Jen was born, we used to travel all over the US, but we haven't been on a big (driving) trip since she was 3. I managed to get extra days off of work, so we're going to take our time going down & will stop to see things along the way....it's over 1000 miles so there should be lots to see! So please excuse me if I don't comment every day--not sure how it will be to find internet connection each day while we're travelling! :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.