Under the sea

I feel that my artwork is slowly I proving and inching towards primary 4 level this week.
Today has been good and I feel like I'm finally getting there with this project.
This morning was spent in the college textile archive. The lovely curator Helen got out several of the student sample books from the 1890's and 1900's. They were really fascinating as the high level of detail in patterns were stunning, and the vivid use of colours was amazing.
There were also the old sample boards from the college museum, which again had very intricate and beautiful patterns. I got some ideas for my project and then spent my lunchtime figuring out how to do it technically.
I think I've finally got there and just need to speak to my tutor tomorrow to make sure I'm on the right track.
We also went through yarn counts and how to work them out, so I think I finally understand weaving yarn sizes now.
My blip is of a collage I made this afternoon, playing with texture and trying to get some colour ideas for the final piece.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.