Discoveries & Adventures

By bentleyfleh

Leeds Market

Well this is Leeds Market. I've never lived so close to a proper market- well never anywhere near one, in fact, if you don't count intermittent international and farmers' markets. It was one of the first things I found out about before I moved and I was very excited! I was not disappointed. It is a little overwhelming and I think I would be better off going with a friend- I felt a bit exposed and was careful not to go too close to some of the quieter stalls for fear of being forced to buy something.

I will certainly be going again, though - primarily to buy most of my fresh produce. Not only is there a huge selection (the fish section was incredible!) but everything is so CHEAP. I particularly enjoyed the fruit & veg section. And of course I had to buy some: 4 giant nectarines and a generous punnet of red grapes for £1.25. Bargain.

Discoveries today:

A man with an armful of probably about 20 bananas, shouting in a proper Yorkshire accent: "They are a quid, all that banana, come on a pound!". That kept me smiling for quite some time.

Market's are awful for pluralising with apostrophe's. Note the deliberate mistake.

The arcades are the place to go for wonderful shops. As well as funcy designer shops, they also have cute little boutiques, including a chocolate and sweetie shop that smells marvellous and is full of beautiful quality, handmade chocolates and fudge and marzipan and all sorts. I resisted buying anything there, but I had to buy myself a cute little robot tea strainer from another very colourful shop that is stuffed full of quirky things. I know where I'm going on pay day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.