West Coaster

By WestCoaster

A Little Fantasy Fun

I have watched this shot over the summer and have shot it a number of times but never been happy with the results or have had a shot I preferred on the day so it was cast aside but today I liked the result.

When I was growing up I loved the books of J.R.R. Tolkein, I think because they were so beautifully written and they allowed me to escape reality and immerse myself in other worlds particularity Middle Earth, I always imagined the greens of the Shire would look like this, round was a theme for Hobbits, doors and windows and here I loved the way the rhododendrons had developed into a a circular tunnel over the path by the lade. I sometimes imagine the fellowship running along the lade on their quest. I still return to the books time and again and still find myself enthralled in these stories, strange perhaps as I have never enjoyed any other fantasy novels and I have tried!!!!

I liked the water and the reflections of the trees, there was a stillness which allowed for a mirror like quality despite the low level and heavy weed. I liked the shape and texture and how the "tunnel" seemed to frame the bridge in the distance, I will continue to think of the characters when I walk here and continue to smile quietly to myself as I do.

I hope this departure from my usual shots is enjoyable and as usual I suspect best in large

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.