Life in Sunny Dubai

By GadgetKid

Testify

"(I remain confident of this:) I will see the goodness of the Lord in the land of the living." Psalm 27:13

That was a Bible Verse given to me way back in 1990 (I think) during one of our youth weekends and today, I can really testify to it!

This morning, the all important call came with the news that my visa has been granted and I can finally join the ranks of the employed again! I can't express what a huge relief this is and really, something of a miracle too! I don't know my start date yet, but not too much longer now. It's been 2 1/2 years since I've been in full time employment. I never thought it would take this long to get back into the work force again but a lot of things have happened in that time - losing my father in a hit & run car accident, G going through breast cancer treatment, and having to give up my old flat (the rent for which was almost nothing) the three biggest things!

This has obviously called for big celebrations so after a bit of discussion, G & I headed to Dubai Mall... a different restaurant this time but still overlooking the fountain. My blip is of the Dubai Fountain again, taken from TGI Fridays on the 3rd floor. We got there before 7 (early for here) but all the tables close to the view were already taken! A diner on his own offered to let us share his table - so we did! Had a really good chat with him! We then went down to Morelli's for dessert and finished off at Carluccio's for coffee and the lovely Lyn (mentioned in previous blips by me AND Tigg) gave it to us on the house when she heard my news!

Some more celebrating to be done over the weekend. Tonight was just the start. I don't often flaunt my faith but this really is so big - I just want to acknowledge all the good things that the Lord has done for me/us over the last couple of years! It's been tough, but it's also been good coming out intact on the other side. Thank you too my blip-buddies for your good wishes, concern and support. Prayers too from some. :)

PS. SOOC. Large.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.