Life in Sunny Dubai

By GadgetKid

SZR

... short for Sheikh Zayed Road; previously called Abu Dhabi Road. Photo credit to G as I was driving. We were heading to ACE (DIY store) via a prolonged route which took this in. It was the street which had the highest concentration of skyscrapers, but it doesn't hold the monopoly anymore with the finishing of Dubai Marina and a few other developments. For a long time, there was an unwritten law that no building in the country should be taller than the Dubai World Centre (the building I work in) but after the death of Sheikh Rashid, that rule was relaxed; and so began the rapid development of this road.

Popped into Lamcy after ACE and I have a new pair of jeans! YAY! Blue jeans even. It is such a nightmare shopping for jeans, so I am rather relieved. And in the morning, we went to church and heard the new pastor preach/teach. Very happy to have him; a practical and down-to-earth person.

I have to say a huge THANK YOU to so many people who shared their story of what they were doing on September 11, 2001. Blip is the perfect place to gather collective stories. I got to No 2 place on Spotlight for the first time and I can't deny I was chuffed. Thank you for that too. :D

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.