Lizimagiz

By Lizimagiz

Morning Shadows

It was a very early start for me and the dogs this morning. We were in the vehicle and on our way for our walk at 6.am. I was anxious to get the walk over and done with early in order to get home in time to watch race five of the Americas Cup. I did make it home in time and, like most of the nation, was glued to the TV screen to watch our Team New Zealand soundly beat Oracle, the American catamaran, in both races five and six. Yippee... Only three more wins and the team will be able to bring the “Auld Mug” back home to New Zealand.
Anyway here I was walking in the early light along the Upper Taylor Tracks. Do you ever experience shooting a number of images…in lovely light…looks great on the LCD screen…. only to get them up on the computer to be very disappointed? Well today was one of those days for me. I was so pleased with the early light on the hills and so pleased with how my images were looking and then tonight I found I was scrapping the bottom of the barrel to find an image to blip. Yuck. It was so annoying.
So I made the best of a bad bunch and finally settled on one that converted nicely to sepia in Nik. Look carefully and on the lower slopes of those hills you will see evidence of old landslips and erosion. These hills are very fragile and very erosion prone. Much time and effort has been spent over the years in farming them carefully in order to recover badly affected areas and bring them up to a usable state.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.