A view from Jeanneb

By Jeanneb53

More excitement!

We had a very pleasant extended morning walk today, crossing the moors, where there is still a little heather, and returning via the fields. But it was a very still and flat morning, not conducive to good photographs, so when I read that there was a festival of food, drink and music in Bingley this weekend starting today I thought I should take a look.

I got more than I had bargained for as there was the promised food and drink stalls in the centre of of the market square but also some drama going on in Chapel Lane. Police had closed it off and there were fire engines filling the road (top left). I don't know what had happened but at the back of the building there were more fire engines and a huge crane (bottom right). There was water on the road but no smell of smoke.

Back in the market I could see that a platform was in place for musicians and dancing over the weekend and lots of food was being produced; hog roast; hot Polish specialities and lots of produce such as jams, pickles, cheeses and bottled drinks were on sale to take away. As well as a couple of bars the Library Tap Marquee is apparently going to be selling 12 local real ales and 6 ciders!

Could be quite a merry weekend!

Hope yours is too.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.