2011 photo resolution

By karenanya

Chicago skyline from Millennium Park

Early start to get to Heathrow. Easy passage through check in and security and the wait for boarding didn't seem too long for a change. The flight wasn't full and so I ended up with a double seat to myself. I did some work on some papers before the meal and then enjoyed a couple of films while we headed to the USA.

While I was waiting in the queue for immigration, I turned round and spotted an old friend from school - we were both very surprised to bump into each other in such an odd place (he apparently lives round the corner from where I work in London so you would have expected a chance encounter to happen there, not in Chicago airport!).

I got the train into the city centre and came out into a very hot and sunny day feeling rather worn out. I dragged my case to my hotel (a nice one for a change) and then quickly logged on to see if the all important email had come in. It had and it was great news.....the project I've been working on for months has got approval and it will be a significant boost for us. Whew!

I showered, unpacked a few things and then headed out to explore. I find that being outside helps to adjust your body clock. I found Millennium park and wandered round the sights. I got my first views of a monarch butterfly, listened to the cicadas, took a look at the 'bean' (officially called Cloud Gate) and then found somewhere to eat. I finally headed off to bed at about 9 pm and had lost count of how many hours I'd been up.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.