The beholder's eye

By uniqueandlovely

Stately sculpture

While I was driving to the Bluebell railway last week I kept seeing signs for Borde Hill gardens sculpture exhibition and decided I would go there this week if I could, to see what it was all about.
According to Wikipedia 'Borde Hill gardens features over 200 acres of garden park and woodlands accompanied by spectacular views across the Sussex High Weald' which was certainly true, except the low cloud more or less eliminated the views :-(
From the 1st of May untill September 30th it has been hosting an exhibition by David Watkinson of kinetic sculptures and large organic forms called "Unseen Forces".
Since my visit to the sculpture Park in Minneapolis I have quite interested in sculpture and I wasn't disappointed today.
The sculptures were really great, all based on some organic form or another.
There was a series of three small sculptures in the entrance / shop representing a conker, and another out in the italian garden like a large apple sliced in half. there was also a circle of metalic sticks which, had a great view when you looked through it, and better still today a spider's web suspended across the middle (I will put the pictures in my Blipfolio).
My favourites however were the large sculptures representing tree seeds, which moved and constantly changed in the breeze.
So today's blip, is a sculpture of sycamore seeds gently moving in the breeze with the very old and beautiful Borde Hill house as a backdrop.
It is well worth a visit if you get chance in the next two weeks...and the gardens look well worthvisit any time.
As I am writing this a Collered dove has just flown in my conservatory sending the Staffi x mad again...hope this isn't going to become a habit!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.