Desert Experience

Please try large by pressing L on your keyboard, the link doesn't seem to want to work.

I had a day away from water and did some processing of photos this morning.

I was picked up at 3.45pm for my first desert experience. We drove through the check point and out of the resort area a short distance. We were met at the Bedouin village by our camel guides. I have never been on a camel before so this was a new experience. It was very wobbly and I felt very unsafe ... abseiling last year was better! I managed 15 minutes of the 40 minute ride before I quit and got rescued by the guide! I enjoyed the rest of the trip in and off the bus where I could actually concentrate on scenery and take pictures!!!

After the 40 minute journey into the desert we were greeted at the tent and offered Bedouin tea, which was delicious, followed by an explanation of Bedouin life. A short climb up a hill at the back of the tent gave us a lovely view of the surrounding area. Not what I had pictured the desert to be. South Sinai is very hilly and very rocky. It looked beautiful in the sunset.

We were treated to a very tasty meal, far better than the hotel! They then lit the fire and asked us to gather round. Being near a fire was the last thing we needed in the heat of the desert, even if it was evening! The Bedouins chanted as we were all taught to dance around the camp fire. It was then time for star gazing.

Mum and I have a standing joke. If I go on a boat trip to see dolphins the dolphins hide in the harbour. If we go up mountains to see the view you can guarantee it will be foggy. Now, after a week of perfectly clear skies, the clouds decide to come the day I go star gazing!!! We managed to see the moon, Saturn and Venus through the telescope but the clouds kept getting in the way and we weren’t able to see much else. Still, it was a wonderful evening and fabulous experience ... but I won’t be going on a camel again!!!

It has been much hotter today. I believe it got to 46 degrees. It is now 9.50pm and still 36 degrees!

Big Adventure Day 101
Photos 105/11,772
Additional mode of transport - camel



LARGE

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.