Transitoire

By Transitoire

Ce regard...

And here it is, my final day demontaging. We decided that rather than struggling in the heat, we would work on Thom’s day off and after I had finished my contract. There weren’t that many to do, but we had to spend more time than usual on two of the three vans left to do, as they were being cleaned for sale. The most difficult thing to do though, to be completely honest, was trying to get the inventory out of the vans, as that would not be sold with it! We then had the problem of trying to find the space in our store room for two extra sets of everything spare which did leave us feeling rather frazzled to put it mildly!

When we finally made it down to the pool to distress it really was worth it. A last day lying in the sun and going in the pool with Thom was really lovely…but it is going to be so strange without him. I loved the play of shadow and light on his face in this photograph, and I think it works better in black and white than in colour, just for the contrast. I thought it was apt to finish my last full day here with a photograph of Thom.

We were also joined this evening by Jim, Emily and Jim…driven up from Les Sables d’Olonne to help Thom close up the rest of the site when I have gone. Nice to meet some other couriers who weren’t there at the beginning and see how they have found their seasons! Thom, Emily, Jim and I went for a walk along the coastline, and Jim and I ended up having a chat while Thom and Emily went for a paddle in the sea. After doing our final leaving visit ever, and having a glass of wine with our final family, our evening was spent with everyone, using up the rest of the coal for a massive barbeque finished off with Jim’s Eton Mess (berries, whipped cream, meringues and marshmallows). Winning.



Now as most of you will know, I will be attempting to catch up with my Blip over the next few days...starting here, but moving on a little. Please, if you have the time to read back I would really appreciate any feedback, comments etc!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.