The accidental finding

By woodpeckers

Calico jam

Calico jam
the little fish swam
over the syllabub sea,
he took off his hat
to the Sole and the Sprat,
and the Willeby-Wat
but he never came back to me!
He never came back!
he never came back!
He never came back to me!

Edward Lear, Calico Pie

We had this poem on a 45 RPM 'single' while I was growing up, in case you are wondering...The Owl and the Pussycat was on the A side, and it was my first record!

The shop sells kitchenalia. I like it, but I like the sign even more because it is square!
This is, of course, another blip for Square September.

The sky remained resolutely grey all day, and my little charge and I did not get out for a walk. We did, however, dress up in hats. Eccentric headgear is good.

And now the sky is purple. I have only read a couple of pages today. And a few more of the Radio Times, about the new series of Downton Abbey. I'm not sure how it'll be without Lady Sybil AND Matthew. My niece, Immy, who is 14, was most excited to have seen the actor Hugh Bonneville at an airport last year. She instantly recognised him as Lord Grantham. I'm not sure every 14 year old would know that.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.