The accidental finding

By woodpeckers

Cyclamens in Bank Gardens

Here's another blip for Square September.

On a hunch today, I rang the clinic at Nailsworth to see if my prebooked client was still coming. She wasn't, but I still needed to go there to drop something off for another client. CleanSteve said he'd take me, but we agreed to meet first in Bank Gardens, where he was having a meeting, something to do with a gate...

AfterI'd been for a walk and failed to buy a pac-a-mac, I returned to the gardens and sat on a bench eating wasabi peanuts. Mmm!...Steve's meeting finished, but he started taking photos of the ex-gateposts. I whipped out my Olympus and got to work on the little cyclamens beneath the beech trees. I have a soft spot for these, as they used to grow beneath the poplar in the gardens of Knocksinna, the first house in Ireland in which I can remember living. In the autumn of 1971, at the time of my special aunt Jan's wedding where I played the pivotal role of flower girl, my uncle John painted Knocksinna in oils. My sister TML has blipped the painting here.

We went to Nailsworth eventually, and I conducted my business. By the time we got home it was 3.30 and I didn't feel like doing any more work. So I bought a raincoat on Amazon, and lo! the sun came out! Note to self: buy more wet-weather gear.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.