The accidental finding

By woodpeckers

What Economic Recovery?

The shutters are down and the company's in receivership. Hard luck on the staff....I never bought a phone in there, but every extra empty shop is a blight on the local landscape.

Referendum today, obviously not in England. Doesn't mean we're not thinking about it! Mass at school, took me back to the 1970s folk masses of my childhood. Followed by helping little people eat their school dinners, and then a quick search for childrens' shoes when the fire alarm went off!

Much later, when I 'd tidied up and tried to leave things in order for tomorrow (I'm going on a course) I headed off to the cinema to see Pride. It is supposed to be a feelgood film, but it made me cry a lot! A very cosy view of the Miner's Strike, but who needs baton charges?

How strange it was to see the 1980s portrayed in the glow of nostalgia, complete with swirly wallpaper and extreme hair gel. That was what my student grant went on (the hair gel, not the wallpaper!)

And now I have that rarest of things, an evening at home where nothing is expected of me. Hurrah to that, can't remember when it last happened. Last week sometime?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.