Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Shades of Tennessee...

Actually, a Tennessee Warbler (Oreothlypis peregrina) - a first time bird for me and I believe also a new one for the BlipBigYear.

I got in a few hours of office work this morning, then a very quick trip out to the yard and then off to bed for the rest of the day. This cold is kicking my ass!

Luck was with me when I ventured out in the yard- I saw this lovely little warbler flit into our cherry tree, and the recently-fledged goldfinch family, including the rather beleaguered Papa Goldfinch, hanging out in the dead sunflowers.

While I was in the office this morning, I watched a white-tail deer and her two nearly-adult youngsters cross our yard. She's been around all summer and has done a good job of getting her two babies to teenage-dom.

The tree guy came last night and gave us an estimate (ouch) for cutting up the trees. Hubs called him today and got the price down by 1/3 so we are having him come out this Saturday. He'll remove the tops of the two trees next to the deck so that they aren't dangling, and chop the huge tree into 12-18 inch hunks which we can then split into firewood. (By "we", I mean hubs...)

I posted 4 shots on Flickr of the warbler, goldfinch and deer, Starting HERE

That's it for me - back to bed with a cup of tea and a box of tissues...

Ciao
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.