Quod oculus meus videt

By GrahamColling

Towards Ramshaw Rocks

I've just started a three day training course in Stoke. The city is only about 30 minutes from the Peak District and as I didn't need to be at the course until 9:30 am I decided to make a dawn visit to The Roaches.

Not that I saw the sun. I arrived just after 6:00 am (Sunrise was 6:47 am) and this scene was in front of me looking towards the east. I took some shots, including this one and anticipated the lightening conditions. I went into my camera bag, checked this and that and then looked back towards this view. Except it had disappeared under a blanket of thick fog! Hmmm, what to do?

Maybe getting higher. I climbed Hen Cloud to its summit. At least I thought it was the summit, I couldn't really tell in the pea souper enveloping me. I descended, still less than 50 feet visibility. By now it was 7:15. I had to leave by 8:30 am. In truth the fog did lift, slowly, but not back to the conditions in this image, There was sun in the valley below me but the fog resolutely hung around the higher ground. It was still great to be out in these conditions and I thoroughly enjoyed myself for a couple of hours with a mad rush of images taken as conditions improved and before I had to leave.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.