MsQuizzical

By MsQuizzical

A Pigeon Pair

I was out with the camera early today. I got a shot of a boring wood pigeon on an elderberry bush as I liked the pinkish tones in its plumage with the Sambucas stems. When I looked at the pic on screen I noticed that the bird had lovely blue eyes. Never noticed that on a pigeon before, evidently it was a juvenile. A much kinder look than the adult yellow eyes.

This evening I noticed two wood pigeons perched on the top of a telegraph pole. I like the way the dying light is turning a pair of wires golden.

Peter, who used to help us on the nursery, said when my daughter was born, "Now you've got a pigeon pair." I didn't know what he meant but it transpires that folklore has it that pigeons lay two eggs which hatch into one male and one female bird. So a pigeon pair is twins, one boy and one girl, or two different sexed siblings close in age. There are only thirteen months between my son and daughter. Lucky to have my pigeon pair. :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.