MsQuizzical

By MsQuizzical

Avian Aerial

I watched as this grey heron came into land at the very top of a weeping willow tree at Fishers Green in the golden hour, catching the sun beautifully. I always research my Blip subjects and was intrigued to learn two facts that I didn't know regarding herons.

Firstly the word heron is thought to be derived from the Latin aerius meaning aerial. Quite appropriate as this one chose the perfect position for an antenna. ;)

Secondly the messenger of the gods has special feathers on its breast called powder down which it crushes with its feet and spreads all over itself. The powder soaks up the muck and grime which it scrapes off with a serrated claw. This helps with waterproofing too.

I watched as it took off again and it didn't 'shitepoke' as they often do when taking to the air. :) They are thriving because the water quality in our rivers is so much better than it used to be.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.