The Warp and Weft Of Life

My new macro lens arrived yesterday and when I heard this morning that we are to stay united and keep our beloved Union Flag I decided to photograph it.

My dog wore this fine cotton Union Jack hankie as a neckerchief during the Queen's jubilee celebrations. This was written at the time. "Over the seven-mile route of this glorious procession, there was scarcely a gap in the crowds and everyone, it seemed, was waving a Union flag. A second river, of red, white and blue, ran through London. This was a truly historic moment and people wanted to be part of it.

The pageant was an imaginative masterstroke. It celebrated our maritime past on our most famous waterway, what the historian David Starkey has called the “liquid history” that runs through our national story. But it embraced much, much more. For this was also about the warp and weft of life as it is lived in this country by ordinary people."

I keep the handkerchief in my camera bag. The new lens definitely shows promise but I can't use it properly until I get an adaptor for my ring flash, a decent ball-headed tripod and a macro slide.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.