Adda

By Adda

Home food

Home. Home means a lot of things to us. Home means family; home means peace of mind; home means memories of childhood; home means sharing, caring, food. I generally visit home to see my parents once in 8-10 months. Needless to say, for that weeklong stay, I am pampered. Food is a very essential part of a regular bengali's day to day life. Food is not just a biological necessity for survival but it is a traction, a culture and a reflection of one's own self. A regular meal in a typical bengali family is quite elaborate and multi course, which I have not seen any many other parts of the country. Fish and sweets form very essential part of bengali cuisine. So today, as I was just lazing around in the house, mom got this in front of me - fish fry - something that I have always loved as a kid. It looked and smelled delicious! I generally don't get a dose of fish in Hyderabad or when I am not at home. So most of my meals at home has fish. I couldn't wait to gorge on it, but eating is just one of the good things you can do with food. Photography is another :) So I took out my camera and decided to take a picture of it before I start savoring it. Mom, realizing my intentions, cut a few more pieces of vegetables and helped it look a little more inviting. Once the blipping act was over, some freshly ground pepper on the fish and....mmmm....nothing like home food!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.