See it, Snap it, Share it

By pplnani

Hissing Sid

As it was lovely and sunny, all the insects had come out to play. I had a nice bee on a pretty flower lined up for my blip when I spotted Ed the cat very interested in something in the garden. I watched him gingerly and gently poke whatever it was with his claw and the thing wriggled. I quickly called hubby to rescue it as it seemed to be still alive. He removed the cat to the safety of the kitchen and proceeded to investigate, we quickly discovered this beastie in the flower border, completely still. We tried to move it with a stick and it remained motionless and we thought it had sadly died but we decided to put it into an open box somewhere safe. As it was being picked up it seemed to respond and move a little bit, which was when I took these photos. We placed it in a high sided box and put the box on the garden table slightly in the bushes and left it alone. We checked on the internet for ID we found it was a grass snake and when in trouble it plays dead, so I went back and had a look in the box, the snake had gone, it was obviously uninjured and just playing dead - a good result I'd say but I'm still keeping all my doors and windows shut for a while :-)))

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.