Mikey88

By Mikey88

Droplets

It rained until the middle of the afternoon today. When it stopped, a pretty strong breeze blew up and the clouds broke up allowing the late sun to pour down over the wall. I looked out of the back door and spotted several spider webs covered in raindrops and lit by the sun.

It was a bit tricky getting the shot, as every slight breeze moved the plants to which the webs were anchored, so it was a case of waiting for the breeze to stop long enough for the web to settle - which wasn't very often, magnified to this level!

Eventually, it was still enough for a fifth of a second and I took a shot. Out of the fifteen or so shots I got, only two were acceptably sharp. When I enlarged them, I noticed the rays radiating out from each droplet. They only show clearly at a large magnification, so this is a huge crop of the original image.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.