The beholder's eye

By uniqueandlovely

Kissed by a rose.........

Very busy day at work today, with yet another drama involving a bird, this time a Mature Herring gull who was flapping about in the school grounds unable to fly. Paul my lovely lab assistant and I managed to round him up, and catch him in a large towel, then put him in a large tray so we could drive him on a mercy dash to the local vets where we left him in their very capable hands.
I don't know if he survived or not, but if not at least he died peacefully.
I like Herring gulls, they are so smart, and interesting to watch as they screech and yell to each other. He was a beautiful bird, with a razor sharp beak which I kept well away from!!! sadly he was terribly distressed at being plonked in a deep tray, so I didn't distress him further by trying to get some pictures.
Instead I did a quick recce of my neighbour's garden after work and found this beautiful Hover fly hiding in one of her roses. This Hover fly is a member of the species Syrphus, beyond that id is very difficult as the identification markers are minute, and not always visible in a photograph.
I think Hover flies a very beautiful a lovely splash of colour as they dart from flower to flower, a really welcome addition to an autumn day.
Best of all fellow Blippers, tomorrow is Saturday! Yipee!!!!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.