From there to here: A stranger (no more)

A couple of miles walking on the boardwalk in the sunshine, pretty much like the miracle cure for everything. Along the way, I took this photo. It seemed as beautiful as it was simple. With just a fence, some sand dunes and the sparkling water in the distance. I could stare at this all day.

Since Hurricane Sandy destroyed so many of the sand dunes, there are projects all along the New Jersey Shore sponsored by local New Jersey Shore communities to rebuild them. They were bulldozing sand piles while I was there. Most of the town's residents are year-round inhabitants and you can see that there was much work still to be done to prepare for this winter season in order to protect their homes.
In other news, it was my turn to photograph a Stranger. My stranger is a beautiful woman named Marta. She works in the spa that I frequent that is located in one of the hotels along the Jersey Shore that was hardest hit by the hurricane. Marta was born on a farm in Poland, but immigrated here to the United States and is now a talented esthetician that has worked very hard to be successful. When I asked her if I could take her photo for my Stranger project, she was happy to oblige. She stepped into the room that she treats people in and stood proudly with a smile. She was very soft spoken with a lovely accent and it was easy to see how she would be great at her job. Even through the storm and the renovations of the hotel, she continued working. I admired her work ethic and her kindness about having her picture taken. I gave her one of the Blipfoto cards and she in turn gave me her email address to send her a copy of my blip. Overall, a great experience.
The black and white camera is now on its way to Cailleach for yet another stranger to be found! Good luck Cailleach!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.