It started off as a grey day today, so I thought it looked like a 'museum kind of day'. I crossed over this bridge to West India Quay this afternoon, to go to the Museum of London Docklands (when I finally bothered to leave the house, mid-afternoon!)

There was an exhibition, 'Estuary', that I'd meant to visit when it first opened and had forgotten it was on, so was pleased to see it was still there. It was quite a small exhibition, art and short films. I really enjoyed it (loving the Thames and the coast, as I do!) It was free to visit too, which is always handy, when pay day is still quite a few days away! I walked back along the Thames in the lovely, warm sunshine that had appeared and it's very welcome to stay on my days off.

Here is the info...

Estuary brings together the work of 12 artists who have been inspired by the outer limits of the Thames where the river becomes the sea. The exhibition marks the 10th anniversary of the Museum of London Docklands, a converted Georgian warehouse on West India Quay.

With its dramatic landscape – desolate mudflats and saltmarshes, vast open skies, container ports, power stations and seaside resorts – the Estuary has long been a rich source of inspiration for artists and writers. Through film, photography, painting and printmaking, the contemporary artists featured in this exhibition offer new insight into this often overlooked, yet utterly compelling, environment and the people that live and work there

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.