Map readers

It's quite a while since I've been in town for anything other than a hospital appointment, so it was strange being in the city centre this afternoon to meet my print liaison guy about the quarterly magazine.

A bit like when you come back from holiday and expect everything to have changed during the two weeks you've been away, I half wondered what would be different after all this time. Sure enough, I came across a number of the 'stations' which are being installed for the new bike scheme, the crazy 'bus gate' is now in operation around College Green, and lots of what I think are traffic signal control boxes have been papered over and prettified as part of what seems to be related to a city walking tour initiative.

I came across this one on the corner of Dawson Street. It isn't exactly convenient to have street maps at such a low level, but these tourists didn't seem to mind.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.