ClickSnapSmile

By KirstyHalbert

Mother and Son.

Pentax K1000, Kodak BW400CN, ISO 400.

I'm currently sitting in Stavanger airport, writing in my notebook to type up and put on Blip later. In some ways I'm so sad to be coming home; this holiday has been fantastic and I didn't want it to end, but in other ways I'm excited to be getting back to Aberdeen. Mum and Dad arrive tomorrow for a few days and I'm looking forward to celebrating with them as well as telling all my friends about mine and M's good news. I've texted a handful of folk - friends from back home in Yorkshire as well as Aberdeen pals, but we've kept it quite quiet. I've got (good!) butterflies just thinking about telling everyone!

Today has felt loooong. M and I woke up early to have breakfast and clean the cabin. It was pristine when we arrived so we wanted to leave it perfect. Finally after many holidays of boring guestbook entries (Norwegians love their hytte gjestebøker) I had something amazing to write on our page! I hope the next people who come read our message and smile.

The drive to catch the first ferry was a little stressful - we'd left a bit later than we'd hoped - but we made it, and the next ferry, in perfect time and knocked a whole 1 and a half hours off our outbound journey time. We stopped off at A's house to take back the bed sheets and pillows we'd borrowed and give him a bag of uneaten food (we weren't allowed to leave anything in the cabin), then we said goodbye to this lovely (photogenic) family until Christmas. M drove me to the airport and we ate lunch together before he left me to go through security on my own - he's staying an extra 3 days for work. It feels so weird leaving my new fiance behind in the country we both love!

Tonight I'll just be getting ready for work tomorrow, preparing for Mum and Dad's arrival, sorting through my photos... And trying not to stare at my new diamond ring too much! :o)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.