Mikey88

By Mikey88

Prey

The spiders in the garden are getting bigger - big enough to take a butterfly. I don't think I'll be arguing with this one!

This morning was hard work. I went to mow the mother-in-law's lawn. It was dry yesterday and overnight, so I thought it would be ok. I loaded the lawnmower into the car, some recycling bags and some extension leads and off I went.

When I got there, I realised that perhaps it wasn't as dry as I thought. I could see the water droplets on each blade of grass and it was so long! Anyway, I set the lawnmower up and started. By the end of the first strip (and it's not a huge garden) the lawnmower was clogged with soggy grass. I had to up-end it, and pull out handfulls of soaking, claggy grass. It was the same for every strip. To mow, I had to lift the lawnmower so that it took the top of the grass off, then drop it down to take the bottom section. It was really hard work and my legs are still aching from the effort.

I eventually finished by about two o'clock, then went to the tip to recycle the clippings and finally got home, gratefully sitting down to some lunch and a read of the paper.

In the evening we went out for a meal to celebrate my son's twenty first birthday. He wanted to go for an Indian meal, so we booked a table and went out for half past seven. We needn't have bother booking, as we were the only people in there, apart from a few people who came in for a take-away. Regardless, it was a nice meal and we certainly had the waiter's undivided attention.

A bit of a different start to a week - all I want to do now is go to sleep!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.