The accidental finding

By woodpeckers

The Brewery Windows

I pass these windows often, and never fail to be disturbed. This wall is all that remains of the historic Stroud Brewery. When it was demolished in 1970 and the canal basin fell into disrepair, the windows were left choked with rubble and wild plants. Since no one could see into the canal basin, it wasn't really an issue.

Work started on restoring the central Stroud area of the canal basin in 2010. A new bridge was built at a cost of 1.8 million pounds, involving traffic mayhem, and the new section of the canal basin with its new lock gates was eventually opened by Princess Anne in 2011. Now the work has extended up to Capel's mill, which I have blipped several times, but this wall was left as it was, being not part of the contract for reasons of finance!

I now pass the modern-day buildings of the Stroud Brewery on my way to work each Friday. The brewing tradition continues in Brewery Lane, Brimscombe.

On my way up the canal towpath, racing against time to get home to watch a quiz programme, I spotted a little bird flitting ahead of me. Something about the iridescence of its wings alerted me that it was a kingfisher, a sight I've never seen before on this canal. Let's hope it will be the first sighting of many.

A square blip for the Square September challenge.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.