The accidental finding

By woodpeckers

The Museum in the Park

We set off for the museum today, to see the exhibition of bright, expressive pastel and oil paintings by local artist Carolyn White. Sadly she has just died: assembling the retrospective was her final push, as she had been ill for some time.

The shots I took did not come out well at all, owing to reflections, and the need for a Square September crop. So Ive gone with this shot of the three cyclists outside the mansion, which houses the main part of the museum. CleanSteve has written about Stratford Park in his entry for today, and my sister TML has blipped a tree, possibly the same autumnal one, from inside the mansion.

I've blipped Stratford Park, the mansion, and the family of swans many times, but I had not been there for a while, until today. It has a small arboretum, and in a couple of weeks' time, the autumn colours will light up the lakeside.

Apart from that, it's been a sleepy sort of day. I woke at 5.30 am, and that has thrown everything out of kilter. In a moment, I will go and cook risotto. No doubt there will be a courgette or two in it. If it wasn't a lovely warm day, I'd suggest lighting a fire, because series nine hundred of Downton Abbey starts tonight!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.