The accidental finding

By woodpeckers

Monster on the Common

Before I left for work, CleanSteve asked me if I wanted to go up to Rodborough common at 4pm. I agreed, but said I couldn't linger long because of going climbing later. So he turned up, and offered to buy me an ice cream on the common, at Wynstones' oddly-located factory. Turned out that he'd forgotten his wallet!

We had one anyway (coconut in a tub for me, honey and ginger cone for Steve) and sat on a bench overlooking Stroud, playing the fool with shadows. Then we drove home, and I had supper, and went climbing. I climbed with a different partner tonight, and did better than last week, having gained a bit more confidence and able to do bigger leg stretches. For someone as amateurish as me, the only way IS to get better!

And now I'm in bed, and it's half past eleven already. Goodnight, world. I'm listening to the audio version of Hilary Mantel's A Change of Climate.
My goodness, but it's not an easy listen!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.