The accidental finding

By woodpeckers

Giffords Circus

I think I must have had my greasy thumbprint on the non-covered lens...

Kate, Jimi, Natty, Jezzie and I had a lovely lazy Sunday morning: Jezzie and I got up first, and I did her nails, then we had a snack, while others drifted in and decided to try a sticky toffee pudding for breakfast! We'd planned to go down the valley to the rope swing, but there seemed to be a lot of shooting going on in the fields! So we played Bananagrams and then went down to town to get shoes for Natty, cycling gloves for Kate, and cycling gloves (for belaying) for me. Then we went to Black Books cafe, which I've blipped a few times, because Kate has never been there. It's been open for about two years, but she got her car fairly recently, and lives in Preston, Lancashire.

We played more Bananagrams, and Jezzie drank her babyccino, then begged to drink everyone else's froth! It was then time to get a picnic and rush off up to the farm up the road, where Gifford's circus has relocated.

Gifford's is a fabulous traditional Edwardian-style circus, and it was a treat to see them again after my having had a break for several years. I am so pleased that they have relocated to the Stroud Valleys! Flash photography wasn't allowed, but the flash went off during this slow-shutter release shot. Oops. I am glad it did, though, for I loved the oriental acrobats, who did two separate acts. I loved everything about the show, and would heartily recommend going to see it on a village green near you next summer. Today was the last day of the entire season, and also likely to be the last visit from Kate for a few months. It's been lovely to see more of her and her children over the last few months, but Kate now works six days a week, and they're moving back to Scotland next year. It cannot last, this endless summer, but it's been a lot of fun!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.