The accidental finding

By woodpeckers

Some like it hot

I was tired today, it's been a busy week. The weather was unexpectedly cloudy, which didn't help. But I got up and went through the motions of light housework, until it was time to go to a toy sale up the road. A local childminder has given up her business ( "too much paperwork" ). I was able to buy some things that might come in handy for playtime sessions at school. It saved me from the thought of going to a car boot sale, which I dread, in case I come away with more books for myself!

After that I found a DVD I'd bought for fifty pence the other day, Peggy Sue Got Married. I'd always wanted to see it again, having seen it on its first release in Thessaloniki in the 80s. Ultimately, I was forced to admit that it hasn't aged well, and I found the ending naff. Besides, I'm no longer obsessed with Kathleen Turner! So to make up for that, I watched the BBC's Richard II (2012), part of The Hollow Crown tetrarch of Shakespeare's historical plays. It was even more superb than I remembered, so thank you, my sister Tanya/ TMLHereandThere for sending it to me for my birthday, seven months ago! Still three more plays to watch.

I was filling in time, because I didn't know what time one of my other sisters, Kate, was due to arrive. It's safe to say with her that one can imagine an ETA, then add on at few hours. In this case, it was about half past ten when they stumbled through the door. I'd taken a few shots of the dinner cooking, but meant to take some of her and her two boys and one girl when they arrived. I forgot though: we were too busy talking about the Scottish referendum result, and trying out various exercise devices (none of us can keep still for long) and drinking green tea/white wine. Jimi, her eldest, went straight to bed in the cabin, having had three hours' sleep the night before, and Jezzie was sent upstairs to sleep. She managed to reappear seconds later in her dressing gown, having found another Jenga set under the stairs.

"Can we play this tomorrow?" she enquired. We had to say yes, because her brother Nat had already told her off for 'staring at that tablet'. This an admonition that caused some hilarity, because Kate, her mum, thought that Jezzie been in the sitting room with CleanSteve, staring longingly at a box of Scottish butter tablet, as opposed to her little cracked-screen device!

All too soon it was half past one in the morning, and no decent blip in the bag...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.