The accidental finding

By woodpeckers

Korean war revisited in the pub

Today was a little strange. Arrangements went awry. My work-lift phoned to say she couldn't make it; but fortunately CleanSteve was able to help me out, as it was raining.

The WEA class in Stonehouse (the next town) was due to start this afternoon. I'd been offered a lift there from a friend, G, who also attends, but she rang to say she had got a ticket to Dismaland instead. CleanSteve took me there: he's so good to me! Once he'd dropped me off, I realised I was just one of a large gang of people waiting outside the Community Centre, which was locked. It seems that T, who was supposed to let us in and provide the projector screen, was still on holiday but hadn't informed us.

Fortunately someone had the nous to ask for a room at the nearby pub, the Woolpack. They kindly agreed to let us use their restaurant at no charge; to let us move the furniture; and to make tea/coffee for us at knockdown prices! The day was saved. Another member went home to fetch a screen, and we were only half an hour late starting. After finishing I was supposed to go to visit a friend, K, in Stroud, but she texted to say she'd got a beauty therapy client, so I attempted to catch the bus home. After a walk of a mile and a half, two bus rides and far too much hanging about, I arrived home just before six. There are four buses routes between Stonehouse and Stroud, but the bus times tend to cluster, rather than run at frequent intervals. Grrrrr.

Anyway, back to the course: it's now the Early 1950s in Literature and Social History, with our entertaining and erudite lecturer, Dr Alan Phillipson. We are presented with many film clips and stills as well as extracts from literature. My shot shows a crude representation of one of the most iconic shots to emerge from the Korean War. See a better version of it here.
http://www.koreabang.com/2012/pictures/the-korean-war-in-47-black-white-photos-netizen-reactions.html

I had to Google the Korean War when I got home; it was before my birth: I grew up in Ireland in the 1960s and 70s so we were more likely to be discussing The Troubles, or Vietnam.

The bulk of today's session was not about the war, nor the "Commie Witch-Hunt" but the cinema of the early 1950s, including the early films of Marilyn Monroe, and the Western Hondo, in which John Wayne plays a mixed-race character, part Native American, who lived with the Mescaleros for five years, and who understands the concerns of the Apaches, and how the white man lied to them. So far, so unexpected, compared with the stereotyped image of John Wayne in Westerns.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.