misswinterfinch

By misswinterfinch

Iris Seeds

For the first time a large yellow iris showed up blooming among my dark blue Siberian iris this spring. I mentally noted the event and wondered about it, then moved on to other things. I may have even included it in a photo of the border... not sure.
By late summer a huge green seed pod that looked like a small banana appeared. It was much larger than the Siberian pods or a Bearded Iris pod.
Now, I've discovered it just bursting and dribbling a few of these round discs on the soil. I scooped it up and am finally 'documenting' it along with a monarch butterfly who has seen better days.
There is an iris grower out west in Oregon who wants to see what it looks like, so I'll send this photo to her, too Then I will practice starting iris seedlings with these and the smaller black "discs" of the Siberian iris pods. I expect she will give me good advice.

Now, there's the botany lecture for today, fellow blippers... time to run outside and play/work.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.