stujphoto

By stujphoto

Garden Funghi

One patch of our large lawn which completely surrounds our house has decided that autumn is upon us and and has begun to sprout a variety of funghi. Sad to say when I looked them up in my funghi book, they are all inkcaps which are so common in urban gardens, they could almost be called 'weed funghi'

In my blip the foreground funghi are Common Ink Caps, Coprinus Atramentarius and must never be consumed in a meal including alcohol, as they formed the basis of the drug, Antabuse. Those in the background are Shaggy Ink Caps, Coprinus Comatus which are supposed to be edible while the fruit bodies are still young and white but I think I will give them a miss as anything that autodigests to form a black inky fluid is a no-no as far as my taste buds go.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.