THE TWO COMMA BUTTERFLIES

did arrive one after another. They were not the least shy, eager as they both were to enter the buddleia flowers with their long proboscis.
As soon as the rain had stopped in the morning, the sunshine warmed their wings and us too. Wonderful to sit outside again. In the afternoon the cool wind blew the clouds from west to east.
My comma of yesterday had a lovely welcome with words, stars and hearts. Thank you all.

My haiku:

It is the last twig
With the flowers the commas
Are attracted too

And the proverb:

Hij/zij is van hooge komaf: zijn/haar vader was torenwachter.

Translation: He/she is high-born, his/her father was watchman of the tower.

This proverb does make me remember the fact that the father of my grand-father was leaseholder of the castle of Wijk bij Duurstede, since long in ruins.
I think he did manage an inn there. As kids we were impressed, my father had lived there many years with his grand-parents.
When my parents were still alive we had a ruinion there, the castle had been renovated and a known chef equipped the restaurant inside the building.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.