creative lenna

By creativelenna

stickwork square

I drive by this art installation all the time. It is right on a main route between my home and Sarasota. When I left Nia class, I said to myself, I have my camera with me . . . I am going to stop there today. It will work for Square September!

I have added some other shots I took here if you'd like to have more of a look at this interesting sculpture. This is Patrick Dougherty's 239th sculpture piece, "Out in Front" -and that is just where it is!

Internationally renowned sculptor Patrick Dougherty weaves large-scale architectural forms from trees, twigs, vines, and other natural materials. In January 2013, the artist spent three weeks in Sarasota creating one of his unique sculptures on the grounds of the historic Sarasota High School and future home of the Sarasota Museum of Art/SMOA. More about this here.

This sculpture reminds me a bit of Andy Goldsworthy . . . another favorite artist of mine. Visit this page for a photo of the artist Dougherty and some glimpses into the creation of his "Out in Front".
I am so glad I finally stopped and took a closer look.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.