Blue Hamish

By BlueHamish

Walking Stick

Literally!

Up early this morning so had plenty of time to get creative in Photoshop. My father in law had a small collection of walking sticks and that was the inspiration for this picture. The term is so literal. It's not a walking stick at all its a stick to aid walking.

Another amusing example of language is the word 'twerk' which made the papers this week thanks to the shenanigans of one of the young royals. The modern meaning of twerk is 'a type of dancing in which the dancer, usually a woman, shakes her hips in an up-and-down bouncing motion, causing the dancer's buttocks to shake, wobble and jiggle.' Whereas the old fashioned meaning of twerk was to describe where people in Yorkshire go Monday to Friday between the hours of 9 to 5 :-)

Twas Friday night last night which meant racket ball. A hard game but I managed to maintain my run of wins. We were a little early in arriving at the courts so watched another game (squash). Boy were these guys good. I had the feeling they could beat me whilst tying up their shoe laces at the same time.

60th birthday party tonight. One of Diana's ex colleagues. I so don't want to go. I don't know these people and I have stuff going on at the moment that means I can't be arsed making small talk with people I don't know and will probably never see again. Does that make me a bad person?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.