Clarice Cliff's Sulphur Tree

It's Friday, so must be Poet's Day. It's also the time of year when I am drawn to damp woodlands in the hope of good fungi sightings. So this evening I headed for Lakeside Nature Reserve in Ash where last year, I saw found some great examples ofFly Agaric.

Tonight, having negotiated a extremely wobblely rotting walkway joining a small lakeside island to the mainland, I was disappointed to not even see a hint of these fungi growing. I wandered out onto an angler's platform to see what else might be around, and hearing a splash, observed a Heron. Unfortunately, by the time I had unzipped the bag to get to a long lens, he had disappeared.

Disappointed once again, I headed back, and came across this large group of Sulplur Tufts. Quite how I missed them previously I don't know, as they were on the side of the path in the open. Anyhow, I had a happy 20mins or so taking them from a number of angles.

Later, this one stood out for me as I could see a Clarice Cliff type tree in the image, with a tree root as the trunk and the fungi clump its top!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.