Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

Didn't we do well??

Today I walked 16 miles, leading a walk for the North Pennines AONB Walking Festival. It was part of the Pennine Journey in a Day when walkers completed the whole of Alfred Wainwright's epic walk from 1938. We started in Hexham and you see us here where we meet the Wall for the first time. Seeing Hadrian's Wall was the object of Wainwright's walk which started and ended in Settle.

I have to confess that I took the photo of the group and then popped myself in from a photo taken earlier today outside Hexham Abbey!

The Abbey did not open until just before 9 am this morning and, by then, there was a queue of people waiting to see the completed Buddhist mandala. We streamed in as the verger muttered loudly that morning prayers were about to begin! It was good to see the completed work.

The weather today was perfect and we had a great walk. Arth did well, but I'm rather stiff and sore generally. I hope that normal mobility will be resumed tomorrow!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.