Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

Showing off her best features

Bowlby has beautiful whiskers. She is 15 years old, twice the weight of her litter mate, Carla, and a rather lazy sort of cat. Carla is often out at night hunting successfully; Bowlby knows how to meow loudly for food and curl up on a bed!

I thought my blip was sorted out for today. I was at the first rehearsal of "Oh What a Lovely War", Joan Littlewood's musical, which we are putting on in the village hall next year. I intended to take a few record shots of the first rehearsal, but the director said no, so that was that.

We had a hard working rehearsal. After movement exercises, we moved on to discussing aspects of World War I and then read the whole play before lunch. After lunch we tried out some songs. We have a professional musical director for this, but I could not get used to him stamping loudly on the floor to indicate the time. The hall is very resonant and I could not hear the piano to help me with the notes. I'll have to learn it from the score. Different techniques work for different people I guess....... He is very keen on volume over all else.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.