Red, Green, and Blue

By GemmoMC

Puerta del Sol

It rained today for the first time I'm in Spain! (Last time I was abroad I also noted my first rain. Check it out here!) Started off the day with only a vague idea of what to do. I got to the metro station at Pio XII and thought, where the heck am I going? I needed to buy a notebook, so I made my way to Fnac which is in the Calle Gran Via area.

Once I got to the area it was still raining. I decided to have lunch at McDonald's just so I could get out of the wetness. I had lunch and then started to plan. I came up with some ideas for the first day of class and then decided what to do the rest of the day.

I spent most of my day in the Puerta del Sol plaza and got to chatting to a Spanish couple, the wife being Filipina. I asked her where are the Filipinos around? They replied Plaza Castilla. The man asked me why I was interested in seeking out Filipinos in Spain. I replied, I just want to see how Filipino culture mixes in with Spanish culture and vice versa. In reality, his question is really making me think, why? He brought up a point-- why not learn about Spanish culture? Maybe he's right. What do the Spanish do that is also in Filipino culture? I'm glad I got the courage to talk to them.

Anyway, this is Puerta del Sol just after a quick downpour of rain. There were street performers and just a whole bunch of people admiring. Makes you wonder, how on earth do they do what they do?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.