Teenage Dreams

Janet Kay!!!!!!
In 1979 Janet Kay released Silly Games, I was 14, I sang along to it endlessly trying to hit the high notes and emmulate her amazing sound, it's in my all time top 20. I met her in a club anout 24 years ago and last night I met her again as we were on the same bill at the Kasbar in Clapham!!!!! She was on at 9 and I was on at 12 so we went early, she sang 3 songs and then Silly Games, she offered the mic to the audience to sing the high bit, I was on the balcony and managed to do it, yay!!
She sounds just as good if not better and doesn't appear to have aged at all, I met her backstage and told her how much Silly Games means to me, she was lovely!
Also on the bill were the amazing Angie Brown and the fabulous Lonnie Gordon who was also hosting the evening, the owner Craig had a great party to celebrate his Birthday with me singing happy Birthday to him at midnight!
My friend Grant who lived in Tufnell Park in Jeb's flat with me in the early 90s came down with his wife Heval who I had not met before, she was lovely and great fun, it was so good to see Grant, it's funny with old friends, they never really seem to age as you see the young person as well as the older person, I felt very emotional having him there as the night was reminiscent of an old Singer's night with everyone singing along to each other's songs.
Max was there and has taken some great photos (of course) and Stew and Lee came along as well as Disco Paul who cycled home in 7" stillettoes!!
I love my friends x

Edit
I wrote to her via her website and got a reply!!!!!!!


Hi Katherine,

It was great meeting you too. Sorry I was unable to stay for the other performances but I had a gig in Coventry that night.

Great photos!!!!

Hope to see you again soon.

Best regards,

Janet

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.