Our Journey is a process

By journeysprocess

Swan song

A wonderful lazy day. I spent most of the day indoors because of the high winds and cooler temperatures.

And, I finally had time to officially join blipfoto. So, while I was doing that I updated my bio, and all the other stuff that comes with it. If you are interested, go take a look.

I went back to Artemsia Lake and found the mute swans (Cygnus olor) paddling around happily as usual. I took a lovely shot of both of them, but it was slightly out of focus. The female pictured above, was making a light grunting sound at her mate.

Each spring, the swans have a brood (clutch?) of cygnets. It is so much fun to see the little ones trailing after their parents. The ornithologists in charge do a very good job of keeping only one breeding pair on the lake. I am sure this pair are not the same ones as when I was teaching here.

Hope you had a lovely weekend. Now, on to an expectedly busy week.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.