Mollymay

By mollymay49

Onion flower

I had no herb blip for the topic today, so with a stroke of luck some weeks ago I chopped the root ends from some Spring Onions then I planted them to produce more spring onions later down the track, I had actually forgot all about them, the rain we have had the last few weeks took care of them for me, I noticed the other day they had produced flower heads, I have never seen a Spring Onion turn into a flower, I've always harvested them before they get that far.
If you don't harvest the leaves this is what happens, they produce flowers and you can actually eat them, they taste a little like chives and are great sprinkled on salads or just as a garnish. I agree, not a herb! (Not quite a kookaburra either) herbs, veggies, all add flavour to your cooking, so here is my last blip of the month.

Apologies to DDW & Anniemay for my lack of herb blip.
Another months topics has ended and another one to begin tomorrow, thanks to everyone who stopped by and just looked at my journal also a big thank you to all who left comments & stars too, all very much appreciated, you are a great bunch of blip friends, looking forward to seeing all your blips in next months DDW, OCT. topics.. :-)
It's been a public holiday Monday for us in the West, being the Queens Birthday i believe, so Happy Birthday To the Queen...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.