Combi31

By Combi31

Claptrap

I worked at home today - as I do sometimes and went out later in the afternoon after a blip.
Well there I need to think about that one....
In fact, a blip is almost incidental, but important, to what can be seen when we get our boots on and have a walk in the country.
It has been hot and humid today, in fact it was so oppressive that it felt that there was a feeling of expectation in the air.

Do you ever get that?

You know... when you know you are going to see something spectacular?
I do often, and I often see something, that, for me, is spectacular.

This evening I saw a snake eagle take off not 50 meters from me with a huge snake in it's talons - I was watching it for what seemed like ages, until it disappeared into the trees, out of sight - I managed to get a couple of shots that were too bad even for the bin ...

So then I saw a booted eagle, well, it saw me first and was away .. I saw it again ... same story, in fact we played this game all around the lakes and not once was it in range to even get a far-off, misty shot.

Then the same game was played with a pair of green woodpeckers, I crept up behind a tree, was just about to push the shutter button, when form behind me an old man dressed in camouflage gear (a chasseur I suppose) hissed "have you seen anything interesting yet".
Well the woodpecker was gone by the time I looked back from the man to the tree in the forest.

Now, I hardly ever see anyone here ... but there you go.

So this air of expectation was just a bluff.

Have an egret doing an impersonation of Lilly Allen ...

Hope your Tuesday is a good one :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.