Hummingbird series continued

Today was not a great day for blipping. I had way too much housework to do, getting ready to host a meet-the-pastor event for our senior pastor who just started the beginning of July. After our house full of family last week, and all the busy-ness that involved, we had a lot of catching up to do.

It was almost dusk by the time I took my camera out to the backyard and stationed myself near the hummingbird feeder and fuchsia plant. Because of the evening light and cloud cover, there was no way I would be able to get a fast enough shutter speed to capture these winged beauties in action as three or four hummers zipped around the feeder. I could hear the loud "hum" when they flew in circles around me. It sounds like very large and loud bumble bees. Luckily for me, they have discovered that the top of the shepherd's crook that holds the hanging plant and their feeder makes a great place for a hummingbird to sit and watch the action.

Tonight's hummer is an immature adult female. You can read more about them here.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.